Suffolk Rowing Indoor Championships (SIRC) 2015

Suffolk Rowing Indoor Championships (SIRC) 2015

28th March 2015

The seventh Suffolk Indoor Championships were held at the DRC on Saturday 28th March. The clubhouse was heaving with competititors and spectators who watched the races unfold on the large screen. This year the Burton Challenge Bowl was won by Andy Spencer (DRC) in the masters C category with Malcolm Pidd as runner up in the masters D category. Although no records were broken this year it was a closely fought race that kept the crowd guessing until the last second. 

Two competitors, Katy Wilkinson Feller and Charlie Linsell, exceeded the British Rowing standard times with Benedict Lelijveld and Lotte Tynedale Hardy narrowly missing the target by less than 1%.

The overall category awards went to Andy Spencer (Senior Mens), Katy Wilkinson Feller (Senior Ladies), Charlie Linsell (Junior boys) and Lotte Tynedale Hardy (Junior girls).

For the first time this year we had a 2000m junior relay race with the junior girls competing against the boys with a 30 second handicap. The teams adopted quite different tactics but the race eventually went to the boys who finished in 7 minutes 45 seconds.

Junior Category Winners;

Year 7 Boys - George Wharam
Year 7 Girls - Eleanor Abbott
Year 9 Girls - Hannah Taplin
Year 10 Girls - Tilly Barnard
Year 10 Boys - Oliver Wroe
Year 11 Girls - Lotte Tyndale Hardy
Year 12 Boys - Albert Robson
Year 12 Girls - Annabel Everson
Year 13 Boys - Charlie Linsell
Year 13 Girls - Katy Wilkinson Feller

Many thanks to everyone who helped with the event which raised £230 to go towards the new club gazebo.